CPSC-4200/6200

Computer Security Principles

Fall 2017

General Information

Instructor

Dr. Hongxin Hu
E-mail: hongxih@clemson.edu
Homepage: http://www.cs.clemson.edu/~hongxih
Office: McAdams Hall 217
Office Hours: MW 9:00 AM – 11:00 AM; By Appointment
Time and Location: MW 2:30 PM 3:45 PM, Kinard Laboratory of Physics 001

Teaching Assistant

Nishant Vishwamitra, E-mail: nvishwa@g.clemson.edu
Hongda Li, E-mail: hongdal@g.clemson.edu
 

Overview

This course provides an introduction to the various basic technical and administrative aspects of Computer Security, and addresses the foundation for understanding the key issues associated with protecting information assets, determining the levels of protection and response to security incidents, and designing security mechanisms. The purpose of the course is to provide the student with an overview of the field of Computer Security.  Students will be exposed to the spectrum of Security activities, methods, methodologies, and procedures.  Topics covered include: physical security, secure software life cycle, web security, operating system security, database security, network security, system threats, and programming for software security.

Downloads: Course Syllabus

Tentative Syllabus

Date Topic Notes
Monday, Auguest 28, 2017 Overview of Course  
Wednesday, Auguest 30, 2017 Lecture 1 – Introduction 1 - Security Definition  
Monday, September 4, 2017 Lecture 2 – Introduction 2 - Access Control &Cryptograph
Wednesday, September 6, 2017 Lecture 23 – Invited Talk (Steven Drew, President of Intellisecure) Project 1 due (Chapter 1 Encrypted and signed email: Browser solution, Client solution - send emails to cpsc420620@gmail.com)
Monday, September 11, 2017 No class  
Wednesday, September 13, 2017 Lecture 3 – Introduction 3 - Autentication  
Monday, September 18, 2017 Lecture 4 – Physical Authentication Technologies &Computer Forensics  
Wednesday, September 20, 2017 Lecture 5 – Operating Systems Security & File System Access Control Assignment 1 due
Monday, September 25, 2017 Lecture 6 – Operating Systems Security & Buffer Overflow Attacks  
Wednesday, September 27, 2017 Lecture 7 – Malware 1
Project 2 due (Chapter 3 Set-UID Program Vulnerability Lab)
Monday, October 2, 2017 Lecture 8 – Malware 2  
Wednesday, October 4, 2017 Midterm Exam Assignment 2 due
Monday, October 9, 2017 Lecture 9 – Mobile Platform Security  
Wednesday, October 11, 2017 Lecture 10 – Computer Network Concepts Group project - forming a group and finding three candidate topics
Monday, October 16, 2017 Fall Break  
Wednesday, October 18, 2017 Lecture 11– Networks IP and TCP 1  
Monday, October 23, 2017 Lecture 12 – Networks IP and TCP 2 Project 3 due (Chapter 5 Packet Sniffing (Task 1) **for both undergraduate and graduate students**. Packet Spoofing (Task 2) **for graduate students, but undergraduate students can get bonus points if they can finish this task** )
Wednesday, October 25, 2017 Lecture 13 – Networks Firewalls, Tunnels and IDS 1  
Monday, October 30, 2017 Lecture 14 – Networks Firewalls, Tunnels and IDS 2  
Wednesday, November 1, 2017 Lecture 15 – Web Security Suvey 1 (Android Security) due **only for graduate students**
Monday, November 6, 2017 Lecture 16 – Networks DNS  
Wednesday, November 8, 2017 Lecture 17 –Wireless Networks  
Monday, November 13, 2017 Lecture 18 – Cryptography Concepts 1 Project 4 due (Chapter 7 Cross-site scripting)
Wednesday, November 15, 2017 Lecture 19 – Cryptography Concepts 2
Group project proposal due
Monday, November 20, 2017 Lecture 20 – Software-Defined Networking (SDN) Assignment 3 due
Wednesday, November 22, 2017 Thanksgiving Day
 
Monday, November 27, 2017 Lecture 21 – Software-Defined Networking (SDN) Security  
Wednesday, November 29, 2017 Lecture 22 – IoT Security
Project 5 due (Chapter 7 SQL injection)
Monday, December 4, 2017 Group project presentation 1 Suvey 2 (IoT Security) due **only for graduate students**
Wednesday, December 6, 2017 Group project presentation 2 Assignment 4 due
Wednesday, December 13, 2017   Group project final report due

Textbook

Tentative Grading Scheme

Resources

Google Scholar

ACM's Computing Research Repository

ACM CCS

NDSS

USENIX Security

ACM SIGCOMM